{DIY:: Blank Canvas}

11 Jan

A few months back I came across two canvas’ at Goodwill with some young child’s art work on them.  As much as I could appreciate their work, I knew I was going to paint the canvas.  I started by painting each canvas white not really knowing what I’d end up doing.  Four  months have past since I did that.  I just really didn’t know how I wanted to use them.  Well, after months of contemplating, I finally decided!

I was inspired by a few geometric prints that I found on Pinterest.  That’s what I wanted!  I was now in search of a stencil I liked.  I goggled some things, and found great options, but before I ordered something, I thought, check the local craft store.  Well, I found it!

I started my project by painting both canvas gray {a shade darker than my walls}.

Now, to stencil….

I started in the middle of the canvas because I wanted that to be the focal point of my print.

A key to remember when stenciling…a little paint goes a long way!  You don’t want to load your brush with paint {you’ll get bleeding under the stencil}.  Keep a light hand and just dab away!

Originally I had planned on doing the whole canvas, but once I got the center strip finished, I really liked the look of the strip & the gray showing.  So I choose to go with this look for now, and if I choose later to change it…I will!

My art work!  I plan on using these as a focal point on a shelf that I will hang above a shelf that I already have, which is covered with picture frames.

8 Responses to “{DIY:: Blank Canvas}”

  1. ppfgirl January 11, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    LOVE it – it turned out so great! The colors you chose are perfect…can’t wait to see more. 🙂

  2. Real Girl Glam January 11, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    HOw fun!! Love the stencil and now you have a custom piece. Looks great!

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication January 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      thanks!!! It was so fun to do. Very happy with the end result…now I just have to figure out exactly where I want them…in a design rut 😦

  3. Amy January 11, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Such a great idea!! Adorable!!

  4. Fashion By Alicia (@fashionbyalicia) January 11, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Such a great idea! The stencil paintings look fabulous.

  5. Rida (Raindrop Reflections) January 11, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    It looks fabulous! I’d love to try this out myself sometime.

  6. emily January 30, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    this is amazing! Im going to scour the goodwills and try this out!

Leave a Reply

