{Long-Lasting Memories}

13 Dec

In high-school {many years ago}, I use to develop all my pictures & scrap-book  them in albums, one for each year.  Scrap-booking was so much fun.  I would sit on my bedroom floor in the evenings, after school & cut, arrange, organize, create & paste several pages a night.  I loved the results, but it just got SO expensive {especially someone like me…who wanted all the small details in every album}.  Then I left for college, and it wasn’t scrap-booking that I got to spend my evenings doing….try volleyball practice for hours! 

 What would we do without our pictures?!  They are the snap shot in time, our memories & what we can carry into our futures to show our children or grandchildren.  I love reminiscing on old pictures and sharing my memories with friends, BUT since college to now…the only place my pictures have been, are on CDs & an eternal hard drive…which does me no good! 

{I’m totally about 7 years since I’d put a single picture in any sort of album}

I finally got very fed up with not being able to look back on my old pictures, or share them with people.  Two months ago I decided that was it!  I was going to start the LONG process of creating books out of my past.  I’d used Blurb.com previous, on a few smaller projects, so I knew the program well, and decided to stick with the very easy to use program.  They are also one of the top rated photo-book services.

I started this process by grouping the last 7 years into different blocks of time.  I designed each book to have a cookie cutter layout, so they all shared the same coordinating theme.  Each page is very simple, capturing the pictures as the focus.  I choose hardcover books which are all the “standard portrait” size option. Each book has a solid color, image wrap front cover & the inside pages are all black matte photo-paper with white borders around each picture.

Blurb.com has been amazing to use.  I am so happy with the results & the quick delivery!  I have made twelve books up to this point in time, and now I’m just waiting to order them all.  Prices are very reasonable with Blurb.com, another great plus to ordering through them.

These books will last forever & will make a great addition to the coffee table.

7 Responses to “{Long-Lasting Memories}”

  1. ppfgirl December 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Oregon Summer?? How have we never talked about this? That is my homestate! I want to know what you did & where you went…ha!! 🙂 Isn’t it beautiful there….I miss it so much!!

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication December 13, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      no way!!! what part? Patrick’s from there. His family lives in Dexter (about 30 mins from Eugene). It’s so beautiful out there…I love it!! That’s where I’m headed this weekend 🙂 Do you get to go back often??

  2. Casey Lewellyn December 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    These are cute, Allyson. 🙂 If you used facebook pictures does it diminish the quality when you get the book printed?

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication December 13, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      It will tell you if you have a photo that is diminished due to the size, and will show you how big it can be without being diminished. It’s very helpful!

  3. Lia December 13, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Ahhh I need to do this too! I haven’t touched my scrapbooks in ages, and need to keep up with them. This is a fabulous way to do that!
    xoxo
    Lia

  4. alyson December 13, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    WOW, love this!! I am a photo taking machine and even have boxes — this is embarassing! — of literally every year of my life. Like shoeboxes with g-d knows what. Haha. these books would be such a better way to display everything.

Leave a Reply

