{Homemade Pickles}

12 Dec

“I got a pickle…I got a pickle…I got a pickle hey, hey, hey, hey”

Whenever I hear the word “pickle“..I honestly sing that song in my head..{lol} Weird, I know.  Over Thanksgiving my mom shared her homemade sweet pickle recipe with me.   They are SO good and would make a great addition to the pickle/olive platter at your holiday parties.

Ingredient

10 med. cucumbers
3 med. sweet onions
4 c. white vinegar
3 c. sugar
112 c. Kosher salt
2112 tsp. tumeric
1 tsp. mustard seeds

Directions

1. Wash cucumbers; slice them, put unpeeled cucumbers into a gallon
glass jar.

2. Put onion slices every few layers, Mix vinegar, sugar, salt and
spices together and pour over cucumbers.

3. Let stand in refrigerator for 24 hours before eating.

4. Stir once in awhile.

5. Will keep indefinitely in refrigerator.

2 Responses to “{Homemade Pickles}”

  1. Rachel December 12, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    I love this recipe for the holidays!! It is so simple and quick too, perfect for a last minute get together. And who doe not love a pickle?

    PS- little rascals is the best!!!

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication December 12, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      They’re the best!! When I was home for Thanksgiving, mom and I made them…I’d sit on the sofa with a bowl of pickles..haha So yummy!

Leave a Reply

