{OOTD::Leather of My Dreams}

9 Dec

So…I’m really disappointed I didn’t take a “before” picture of this skirt, but I found it months ago at a thrift store & just got around to altering it last weekend.  I was so surprised when I stumbled upon this genuine leather skirt at the thrift store.  When I started making my fall/winter “want” list, a leather skirt was on it,…but in my dreams!  I couldn’t afford one or feel good about spending so much on one skirt.  Well, can I just tell you…I paid a whopping $3.50!  I cut a foot off the length of this skirt & used “fabri-tac” glue to create the seam.  Now it’s perfect, and my favorite details are the pockets.

{Jcrew blouse, Thrifted skirt (similar), Target heels (similar), Ellen Tracy purse, Madewell Ring (similar)}

Happiest girl in the world today…in Georgia celebrating Patrick’s Ranger School graduation.  It’s been a long 61 days, and I’m so happy to finally be with him this weekend!

16 Responses to “{OOTD::Leather of My Dreams}”

  1. brandylpeterson December 9, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    In love with this outfit! Might just be my favorite on you thus far. Purple looks good on you cuz 🙂

    • Alysson December 9, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Thanks Brandy!! I don’t know why I don’t wear it more often?! Reminds me of Barbie????? Who knows….I’ll start wearing it more!

  2. Fashion By Alicia (@fashionbyalicia) December 9, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    What an amazing find! Love the details of the skirt and how you altered it. Looks great!

    • Alysson December 9, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      Thanks girl!! The pockets are the best!! So unique!

  3. ppfgirl December 9, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    So happy for you to be in GA with your man FINALLY!! And also super-jealous of this skirt…I think we are the same size…can I borrow it? J/K It is perfect on you and that bright shirt is an ideal topper – LOVE! 🙂

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication December 9, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

      Hahaha you’re much smaller than me!! I got so lucky with this find…thanks for all your support in these last two months! Glad to be with him again!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Julie Van Huizen December 9, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I love the whole outfit! A thrifted leather skirt has been on my wishlist for months as well, you’e given me renewed hope one is still out there.

  5. TheLeatherSkirt December 9, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Gorgeous. No other word. Gorgeous.

    LOVE this whole ensemble! Everyone is so right, purple agrees with you. The leather skirt is the perfect length and looks fantastic, too.

    The pockets make this skirt so unique. Just $3.50, too. No fair! I didn’t get mine for that. I’m jealous. Hee Hee

    Still a little skittish about the whole resale atmosphere (not much for the “hunt”) but I’m warming up to eBay. Found something there that I will show of soon… if it arrives.

  6. Wendy (spikesnsparkles) December 9, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    great find! I’m dying to find a leather skirt or leather pants myself!

  7. Emily of EL Vintage December 10, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Lovely….you are!!!!! x

  8. Rachel December 10, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    You look darling! Is this the leather skirt you were speaking of in the interview?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {flower power} « simplicityisultimatesophistication - March 8, 2012

    […] it when I got home.  My first thought was to pair my new blazer with my vintage leather skirt (here), and some funky ankle boots.  I LOVE what it looks like!  I can’t wait to actually wear […]

  2. {Spring Floral} « simplicityisultimatesophistication - April 13, 2012

    […] got around to wearing it!  I paired it with my vintage leather skirt, which I shared {here} and {here}.  I love this combination of the floral with the leather.  It’s chic, but a little rough […]

Leave a Reply

