{Bedroom Update}

30 Aug

A few months ago I fell in love with the look of Confetti System Tassel Garland, but as much as I loved it, $130 was just out of my DIY price rage…for paper!  My mind started spinning…how can I make that myself???  Last week I was surfing through Pintrest and found this tutorial by Prudent Baby– I was pumped!!  I found my Hurricane Irene project.  haha  (thanks goodness Irene didn’t hit us as hard as I thought she might)  This garland will be the new piece of art to hang over my bed.  I didn’t want to go in the typical “picture about the bed” route, so this was perfect.

I made my fabric tassels (9-12″ long), but you can make them any size you want.  My fabric rectangles were 18W”X24L”  and I got 4 tassels out of each yard.   You want to be sure and choose fabric that looks the same on both sides {I used solid cotton(white), satin (pink), chiffon(gray) & lumen(silver)}.

{my fabrics::I used 1yd of each color}

{my cording::used 2 yds of cording…you can also see my sparkle white fabric here- LOVED it!}

{fold your fabric in half, and use a rotary cutter to cut 1in. tassels- be sure to leave 2-3ins before your fold}

{all my tassels}

{lay your tassel out flat}

{Cut off a strip- you will use this later to tie your tassel together}

{begin to roll your tassel- no real art- just roll}

{once rolled, fold tassel in half}

{take the strand you cut off earlier, and wrap it around your tassel & tie a knot…leave the extra length on your knot!}

{all my tassels}

{yay! my Garland}

{I used the strip I cut off at the beginning to tie my tassel to my cording…this will hold the tassel in place}

***I choose to leave the extra length from my top knot, but you could trim that off for a cleaner look.

{I love my new DIY Confetti Tassel Garland}

signature

5 Responses to “{Bedroom Update}”

  1. My Dressy Ways August 30, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    You are a DIY pro!!! Love all your projects!

  2. brandylpeterson August 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Ahaha that is sooooo funny! I fell in love with that garland too but no way would I pay that much for the easiest DIY project ever! I used Bike pom poms! The tassles that go into the kids bike handles. Worked like a breeze!

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication August 30, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      oh no way!! what a great idea…with little Aut you thought of that- I was like ugh what can I make this out of! fabric… please take a picture…I want to see how it looks!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {Bed Room Makeover} « simplicityisultimatesophistication - January 9, 2012

    […] been quite some time since the last time I spoke about my bedroom makeover progress {here, here, here}.  I’ve been in a huge rut lately with no luck finding the right pieces to the puzzle in my […]

Leave a Reply

