{Simply Southern}

18 Jul

{Simply Southern}

I have to say I kick started my weekend with an introduction to a southern staple dessert, banana pudding– which I hadn’t had before Friday!! WOW, was I missing out!  My wonderful coworker, Donna Barber, had our whole staff over to her house for dinner Friday night.  Sadly, it was the same night as my great friend Tabatha’s birthday, so I had to say a quick hey to everyone and run.  BUT, Donna made sure before I left- I had a to go container of this fabulous dessert!  I’m sure most of you have had it before and aren’t deprived like I was, but just in case you haven’t, here is a recipe…you must try it!

{Ingredients}

2 1/2 cups sugar
6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
Pinch salt
2 (12-ounce) cans evaporated milk4 egg yolks
1/2 stick butter, cubed
1 teaspoon vanilla 1 box vanilla wafers, plus more for garnish, crumbled
5 bananas, sliced
Whip Cream

{Directions}

In a 3-quart heavy saucepan on low heat, add sugar, flour and salt. Pour in the evaporated milk and stir constantly. The mixture will thicken slowly, about 15 minutes.

Lightly beat the egg yolks in a medium size bowl. Add a ladleful of the thickened milk mixture to the eggs and whisk, to temper the eggs. Add the egg mixture into the saucepan and continue to whisk and cook until incorporated, roughly 2 to 3 minutes.

Remove the saucepan from the heat and stir in the butter and the vanilla extract. Place the pudding into a bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let cool in refrigerator for 2 1/2 hours.

Into a large bowl or trifle dish, add a layer of vanilla wafers, a layer of sliced bananas, and top with pudding. Add the whipped cream and then repeat the layers. Garnish with crumbled cookies on top.

{the girls celebrating Tab’s birthday}

{what did her hubby get her?!}


{The birthday girl modeling her new MK in her stack:: get similar here}

Saturday was a relaxing day- no sun, so no pool 😦 I did catch up on getting a lot done for my bracelets “from one chick to another”.  You can see them on my facebook page here– I’d love each of you to click LIKE and keep in touch!

{from one chick to another :: crystal bracelet}

Sunday was a great day- still no sun, but an awesome church service!! The preacher taught on order and how important it is for us to follow God’s order.  Like my mom has always said, “you can’t have the horizontal parts of life right, until the vertical is in order”.  The afternoon was spend preparing for the week and ended with some yogurt! YUM

{finished the weekend with a Sweet Frog date with Ash:: mountain blackberry/cheesecake is my new favorite!}

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend.  What was the highlight?!  Have a wonderful week. XO

6 Responses to “{Simply Southern}”

  1. Penny Pincher Fashionista July 18, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Sounds like you had a fun-filled weekend! Love the bracelet!!

  2. fashionandnumber July 18, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    wow. thanks for the recipe. it looks so yummmmy. Glad that you enjoyed ur weekend! 😉

    Happy Monday.

    xoxo,
    Ling

  3. Patience July 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    That look so so good. I am literally going to make a dash to the kitchen for some food after seeing this pic. Thanks for the recipe. Will def try it and let you know how it comes out.

    http://justpatience.com/

  4. Kristin July 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    My hubs would definitely go bonkers for that dessert!

  5. Monica July 19, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Oh, man. That trifle looks AMAZING.

    Ask the Duplex

  6. Winter Reflections Photography July 30, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Hello! it’s @chulitaajo from instagram. I do not have a FB account so i can’t like the ones i want to purchase. BUT i do have a wordpress blog. and here is my email: winterreflectionsphotography@ymail.com

    I’ll email you which ones i like! Email me and let me know how much and what i need to do 🙂

    You’re awesome, and i love the blog!

Leave a Reply

