{The Shine Project Challenge::Thrifting}

14 Jul

{Thrifting}

I’ve recently started following Ashley from, The Shine Project.  She is beautiful inside and out, which is obvious in her blogging.  I look forward each week to see what challenge she has for her readers, whether about life, fitness or fashion.  This week her fashion challenge is :: thrifting!  Right up my alley!

A few months ago, Ashley gave us awesome Tricks to Thrifting

1. Plug your nose and don’t pay attention to the smell of moth balls. I know it reminds you of your great grandma’s bright green walls and fuzzy carpets, but we’ve got to get over this major set back!
2. Look beyond what it is NOW. Most of the clothes are wrinkled with shoulder pads the size of earth. Picture the blouse WASHED, ironed, and the shoulder pads taken out… It does WONDERS my friends! Most of the dresses I buy had shoulder pads that I removed. Don’t expect to find all your treasures in perfect condition!

3. Go to estate-sales. You can look up ones in your area on estatesales.net. Estate sales are hidden gems with AMAZING vintage finds, furniture that you can redo…everything. AND they’re usually cheap.

4. Accessorize! If you find a dress or blouse that’s too big put a belt around the waist and watch the bagginess transform into SEXY. Oh yes, big dresses with a cinched waist can be SEXY! 😉
5. Don’t be embarrassed. Some people feel awkward about telling people they found something at a thrift store. Girrrrl, embrace it! Let your creative side come out when you search through thrift stores!
I LOVED her tips!! Well a few weeks back I found a pair of, what my friends called “old lady shorts”.  (which they were…) BUT I had a vision- printed shorts!!
{1. fold seam to seam 2. measure the length you want off- and cut with a roller blade 3. iron the doubled over 1-inch seams 4. sew the new seam}
The end result :: My new Thrifted printed shorts…
{paired with Madewell White tee shirt, Express jean vest, Jcrew wedges}
I hope this inspires you to join me on the adventures in thrifting!  XO
PS- don’t mind my iphone pictures…I am still dreaming of my own canon t3i…someday!
24 Responses to “{The Shine Project Challenge::Thrifting}”

  1. Penny Pincher Fashionista July 14, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    These are so cute! I am completely impressed – I just recently started frequenting vintage shops around town & am finding little gems here & there too!

  2. fashionandnumber July 14, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    I thrift on a regular basis! It’s pretty creative of u altering the length of the shorts! I am impressed with ur entire look. Actually I am quite crazy about vest now… I just bought a leather one. can’t wait to wear them!!! Girl I love ur outfit.

  3. My Dressy Ways July 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I love it! I can’t believe they were ‘grandma’ shorts! lol. You’re a great DIY’er. I’m very jealous of your denim vest right now.

  4. Kelsey July 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I LOVE the shine project. Such an inspiration. And my goodness that DIY turned out amazing!

  5. ashley LEMIEUX July 14, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    okay, THIS IS AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG! -Ashley from The Shine Project!

  6. Ashley Webber July 14, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    LOVE love LOVE Al!! Your blog is growing and blossoming, keep up the good work girl! Your inspiring others and ME!!

  7. Monica July 14, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Those shoes are amazing!!

    Ask the Duplex

  8. Shelly July 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I love this vest!! I keep seeing these pop up, and I think I need one too!!

    xoShelly

  9. Christie July 14, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    So cute. I definitely need to do more thrifting than I currently do. And I really love those shoes.

  10. Patience July 15, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    I had a smile when I opened this post, guess what I am planning on doing tomorrow after work? Thrifting! I am looking for a vintage leather skirt specifically. Last time I found one that was a size too small, for $3.99 I bought it anyway but I can’t wear it :(. These are great tips. Love your look, so casual and comfy.

    P/S Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  11. jimpricute July 15, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    SUPER CUTE!!!
    http://jimpricute.blogspot.com/

  12. Linda W July 21, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Great tips. I’m really trying to work on seeing the item for what it could be. These shorts, for example, turned out wonderfully!
    Thanks for joining the thrift-off today!

    • simplicityisultimatesophistication July 22, 2011 at 1:53 am #

      It can be so hard to do! I have probably passed up on some great pieces only because it was hard imagining them outside the thrift store!

  13. kelleyjohnson07 July 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Nice job with those shorts! Those are really cute, and they don’t look Grannyish at all!

  14. kelsey July 21, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Those shorts are so fun! Nice find!

  15. meagan July 22, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    That skirt is beyond cute. I love that you remade it! You should think about showing it off in the thrifting link up I host on my blog every week!
    -Meagan
    http://spunkychateau.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

